Skip to navigationSkip to contentSkip to footer

2012 News in Brief



Roman Stocker wins Maseeh Award for teaching

Professor Roman Stocker was recognized with the Maseeh Award for Excellence in Teaching. One nominator said of Stocker, “It is with great pleasure that I nominate Professor Stocker for the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering […]

Read More…

Grad student Zenzie Brooks wins Kaalstad Fellowship

The Trond Kaalstad (Class of 1957) Fellowship was awarded to doctoral student Zenzie Brooks. The award is named for a long-time administrative officer of CEE and recognizes graduate students who display leadership and/or contribute significantly to […]

Read More…

Tzipora Wagner is awarded the Busch Prize

Senior Tzipora Wagner received the Paul L. Busch (1958) Prize, which is awarded to an undergraduate student in environmental engineering science for academic achievement and contributions to the CEE community. A nominator described Wagner as a […]

Read More…

Grossman Award goes to Lorna Omondi

Lorna Omondi, 1C senior, received the Leo (Class of 1924) and Mary Grossman Award, given to an undergraduate who has a strong academic record and interest in transportation. After graduation, Lorna will work at Charles River […]

Read More…

Grad student Zhao Qin receives scholarship award

Ph.D. student Zhao Qin recently received a scholarship award from the Chinese government’s China Scholarship Council designated to encourage research excellence and recognize the academic achievements of Chinese students studying abroad. Qin works on the computational […]

Read More…

CEE undergrad on MIT presidential search committee

As MIT began the selection process for its 17th president, CEE senior Kimberly Sparling — former Panhel president and a veteran of several campus committees — was one of three undergraduates chosen by the Undergraduate Association […]

Read More…

Course 1 junior elected UA president

On April 13, CEE junior Jonté Craighead was elected president of the MIT Undergraduate Association (UA) for the 2012-13 academic year. He and vice president Michael Walsh (Course 8) will be the first officers in the […]

Read More…

Phi Beta Kappa elects two CEE students

In recognition of their outstanding academic achievement, CEE seniors Michael Chen and Tzipora Wagner have been elected to Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest honor society. Students are selected by a faculty committee that reviews the […]

Read More…

Two CEE staff receive Infinite Miles Awards

At the School of Engineering’s 12th annual Infinite Mile Awards ceremony on April 11, CEE administrative officer Patricia Dixon received the Infinite Mile Award for Diversity and Community and research engineer John MacFarlane received an Infinite […]

Read More…