Skip to navigationSkip to contentSkip to footer


Desirée Plata and Justin Steil win Edgerton Faculty Award

Desirée Plata and Justin Steil win Edgerton Faculty Award

CEE and DUSP faculty members recognized for excellence in leadership, service, and impactful work tackling environmental and social justice issues.

MIT associate professors Desirée Plata and Justin Steil have been named recipients of the 2020-21 Harold E. Edgerton Faculty Achievement Award. The award’s selection committee chose to recognize both faculty members for their excellence in service, mentorship, and research that impacts critical societal challenges in environmental sustainability and social justice.

The annual Edgerton Faculty Award was established in 1982 as a tribute to Institute Professor Emeritus Harold E. Edgerton in recognition of his active support of junior faculty members. Each year, a committee presents the award to one or more non-tenured faculty members to recognize exceptional contributions in research, teaching, and service.

Read the full story on MIT News