Skip to navigationSkip to contentSkip to footer

2011 News Release



CEE to award 123 degrees

Written by:

On Friday, June 3 CEE graduates will gather with families, friends and CEE faculty, staff and alumni for an afternoon party following MIT’s 145th Commencement exercises.

This academic year, the department has awarded 123 degrees: 14 doctorates; 13 Master of Science in Transportation degrees; 18 Master of Science degrees; 30 Master of Engineering degrees; and 48 Bachelor of Science degrees (23 in civil engineering, 17 in environmental engineering science, and eight undesignated).

According to the department survey, 33 percent of the graduating seniors will be continuing their studies in graduate school, 46 percent will be working, and 1 student will begin active service in the U.S. Air Force. Eight students did not respond to the survey.

Awards received by students and faculty

In addition to the department awards presented to students and faculty at the annual CEE awards dinner, CEE students received many awards and commendations from MIT and external sources. These awards include those listed below.

At the MIT Awards Convocation May 3, Senior Lecturer Frederick Salvucci won the  Graduate Student Council Teaching Award. Course 1E senior Fatima Hussain won the Association of MIT Alumnae (AMITA) Senior Academic Award. Course 1C senior Aissata Nutzel received a Ronald E. McNair Scholarship Award, and Course 1C senior Michelle Bentivegna won the Laya Wiesner Community Award.

In recognition of their academic achievement, four CEE seniors were elected to Phi Beta Kappa. Founded in 1776, Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s oldest honor society. The new members are Fatima Hussain (1E), Alexander Jordan (1C), Khalea Robinson (1C) and Katherine Turner (1C).

Thirteen students were welcomed into the civil and environmental engineering honor society, Chi Epsilon: seniors Victoria Brumbaugh, Joshua Hester, Ivy Huang, Kimberly Huppert, Connie Lu, Meena Viswanat, and juniors Michael Chen, Lorna Ogolla, Breanna Peterman and Tzipora Wagner.

To see other awards and honors earned by CEE faculty, staff and students, visit the News in Brief section of this website.