Professor Admir Masic leads ‘antiqua-inspired’ method for creating sustainable materials

Research from Esther and Harold E. Edgerton Career Development Professor Admir Masic focuses leveraging ancient successes to create new, sustainable materials, a concept referred to as an ‘antiqua-inspired’ method. Masic collaborated with a team of international researchers on conceptual review of the opportunities afforded by ancient materials, which was recently published in Angewandte Chemie International [...]

Professor Saurabh Amin delivers two keynote lectures on cyber-security of transportation systems

Robert N. Noyce Career Development Associate Professor Saurabh Amin delivered two keynote lectures on cyber-security of transportation systems, one at the New York University Abu Dhabi’s Transportation Symposium on November 19, and the other at the Workshop on Dynamic Games in Management Science in Québec, Canada, on October 12.

CEE subject 1.079 (Rock-on-a-Chip) featured on MIT News

The CEE subject 1.079 (Rock-on-a-Chip), created by associate professor Ruben Juanes, was recently featured on MIT News. The class focuses on multiphase flow in porous media and uses a novel laboratory technique to visualize media properties. The subject is split between lectures, taught by Juanes, and lab, delivered by teaching fellow Marie-Julie Dalbe and teaching [...]

CEE Research Affiliate Hao Sun named one of Forbes Magazine’s 30 Under 30 in Science

Professor Markus Buehler and members of Laboratory for Atomistic and Molecular Mechanics create regenerated silk material with higher strength and the ability to hold new shapes

McAfee Professor of Engineering and head of CEE Markus Buehler, postdoc Shengjie Ling and research scientist Zhao Qin created reconstituted silk that has higher strength and can be formed into new shapes and structures that are not feasible with natural silk. The paper was published in Nature Communications. Read more on MIT News.

Professor Yossi Sheffi pens op ed for Wall Street Journal encouraging the integration of “soft skills” in Supply-Chain Management

Yossi Sheffi, Elisha Gray II Professor of Engineering Systems and CEE, and Director of the Center for Transportation and Logistics, recently wrote an op ed for the Wall Street Journal in which he argues that supply-chain managers need to be trained in “soft skills,” like communications and leadership. Read more here.

CEE New Research Reception provides update on department initiatives and research

The CEE New Research Reception, held on October 26, brought together CEE alumni, friends and community members to hear about updates on the department and new research initiatives. The event featured research presentations from Professor Oral Buyukozturk, Institute Professor Penny Chisholm, Assistant Professor Tal Cohen, and H.M. King Bhumibol Professor Dennis McLaughlin. Read more about [...]

Professor John Ochsendorf donates exhibition of renowned vault builders for new museum

Class of 1942 Professor of CEE and Professor of Architecture John A. Ochsendorf donated an exhibition he created on renowned vault builders Rafael Guastavino and his son to organizers creating a museum about the Guastavinos. The exhibit, “Palaces for the People: Guastavino and America’s Great Public Spaces,” supplements Ochsendorf’s 2010 book, Guastavino Vaulting: The Art [...]

Mars City Design project from Professor Caitlin Mueller, Postdoc Valentina Sumini and undergraduate Zoe Lallas featured on MIT News

A Mars City Design project from Assistant Professor of CEE and Architecture Caitlin Mueller, postdoctoral fellow Valentina Sumini, and undergraduate student Zoe Lallas, was recently featured on MIT News. The urban design project, called Redwood Forest, utilizes the local Mars environment to create dwellings for humans. Sumini and Lallas are part of the interdisciplinary team [...]

CEE Rising Stars Workshop brings distinguished early-career women to campus

On October 12 and 13, CEE hosted 20 distinguished women for the second CEE Rising Stars Workshop to provide insight into careers in academia. The event featured faculty panels, research presentations, networking sessions and campus tours. Read more on MIT News.