Skip to navigationSkip to contentSkip to footer

2010 News in Brief



CEE students, faculty honored at the MIT Awards Convocation

Written by:

Senior Naomi Stein was one of two MIT students to receive the 2010 AMITA (Association of MIT Alumnae) Senior Academic Award at the MIT Awards Convocation May 4. The award is given to women students for outstanding academic accomplishment. Also at the convocation, senior Polina Bakhteiarov received an Albert G. Hill Prize for maintaining high academic standards and making contributions to the improvement of the quality of life for minorities at MIT. One of three Laya and Jerome B. Wiesner Awards went to senior Sriniwasan Balaji Mani for his musical talent. Junior Aissata Nutzel was awarded the Ronald E. McNair Scholarship Award, which recognizes a black undergraduate who has demonstrated strong academic performance and community service. Senior Danny Perez received the Louis Sudler Prize in the Arts for his work in theater arts. CEE Professor Steve Lerman, who is vice chancellor and dean for graduate education, received the Gordon Y Billard Award. See the list of winners.