Skip to navigationSkip to contentSkip to footer

2015 News in Brief



Graduate students win Council of University Transportation Centers awards

Written by:

PHOTO: MIT Transportation

One former and one current graduate student were selected to receive the 2015 Charley V. Wootan Memorial Award for best theses in Policy and Planning, given annually by the Council of University Transportation Centers (CUTC). The winners – Samuel Levy ’15 and Maite Pena Alcaraz – are both students of Professor Joseph Sussman. Levy won in the Master’s category for his MST thesis entitled, “Capacity Challenges on the California High-Speed Rail Shared Corridors: How Local Decisions Have Statewide Impacts”. Alcaraz won in the PhD category for her ESD PhD thesis entitled, “Analysis of Capacity Pricing and Allocation Mechanisms in Shared Railway Systems”. Department Head Professor Markus Buehler wrote: “Congratulations to our students Samuel and Maite, whose work received such significant recognition, and to Professor Sussman as their mentor. It shows that Joe is a dedicated and skillful mentor, and our students greatly benefit from that as he helps them to grow professionally.” The Wootan Award is presented to four graduate students in transportation for the two best PhD dissertations, MS theses, and MS/ME reports.