Skip to navigationSkip to contentSkip to footer

2011 News in Brief



Paper by CEE researchers wins Stephen Brunauer Award

Written by:

A paper by recentAmerican Ceramic Society logo CEE graduate Rouzbeh Shahsavari Ph.D. ’11, Professors Franz Ulm and Markus Buehler, and senior research scientist Roland Pellenq has been selected by the Cements Division of the American Ceramic Society (ACS) as winner of the 2010 Stephen Brunauer Award. The award is given annually to the authors of the best refereed paper on cements published in the previous year’s ACS Bulletin or the Journal of the American Ceramic Society. The winning paper, “First-Principles Study of Elastic Constants and Interlayer Interactions of Complex Hydrated Oxides: Case Study of Tobermorite and Jennite,” appeared in the journal in 2009. The award will be presented during the 2011 Advances in Cement Based Materials conference July 24-26 at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tenn.