Skip to navigationSkip to contentSkip to footer

2016 News in Brief



Professor Ochsendorf, Samantha Harper, and Rebecca Heywood Receive Institute Awards

Written by:

MIT Awards ConvocationProfessor John Ochsendorf, graduate student Rebecca Heywood SB ’12 SM ’16, and graduating senior Samantha Harper ’16 received individual awards at the MIT Awards Convocation on May 10. Professor Ochsendorf was awarded the 2016 Gordon Y Billard, given annually for “special service of outstanding merit performed for the Institute.” Rebecca Heywood received the John S.W. Kellett (1947) award which recognizes an MIT individual or group for a commitment to creating a more inclusive environment at MIT, including but not limited to, improving the experience for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender (LGBT), and questioning individuals. Samantha Harper received the Laya and Jerome B. Wiesner Student Art award, presented annually for outstanding achievement in, and contributions to, the arts at MIT. Samantha started a new theater group on campus to give students the opportunity to express themselves in a new way. View a full list of 2016 recipients here.