Skip to navigationSkip to contentSkip to footer

2015 News in Brief



Moshe Ben-Akiva awarded the Pyke Johnson Paper Award

Written by:

The Transportation Research Board (TRB) Executive Committee selected Professor Moshe Ben-Akiva and his team’s paper as this year’s winner of the Pyke Johnson Award. The MIT Intelligent Transportation Systems Lab at the Singapore-MIT Alliance for Research and Technology developed an innovative smartphone-based automated travel survey system called Future Mobility Sensing (FMS). Field-tested in Singapore during 2012/13, Ben-Akiva’s paper presents of the data collected in this test, demonstrating FMS’s capability to collect data that delivers a previously unobtainable range of behavioral data and insights. The award ceremony will take place on January 11, 2016.